What did you learn today?

We are constantly learning. We can’t help it. Every day we see a new thing or we have a new thought about an old thing. Focus on the learning.

I used to drive my children crazy at dinner time. Back when I was in high school, a speaker talked about how his father used to require them to recite one bit of knowledge they had acquired that day. I thought that was a great idea, so I adopted it for my own children. Each night, we would go around the table and answer the question, “What did you learn today?” “Nothing,” was not an acceptable answer. Even my wife had to participate. Sometimes they hated it, but in later years they recalled those discussions with pleasure (or at least with good humor).

We should ask ourselves this question every day. “What did I learn today?” Why? Because God works in the world around us. By reminding ourselves to be on the lookout for new experiences and new thoughts, we will see God. And seeing God reassures us that he is with us. And if God is with us, I’m a lot less afraid of the world.

Leave a Reply

