Want to know how much He loves you? Hold a baby.

I have been very fortunate. My wife and I have been blessed by 26 babies in our home. (Before you have a panic attack, let me add that 21 of them were foster babies.) We also have 3 grandchildren (so far). We know babies. 

Because we have been so fortunate, we know that the most wonderful time to hold a baby is just before he or she drifts off to sleep. That is when they are at their most trusting, least struggling, and most adorable. A sleepy baby is a lovable baby. I fell in love with each of my children the first time they trusted me enough to fall asleep in my arms. 

Those of you who have had children or cared for them know what I mean. The feeling of love is incredible, deep, rich, and filled with sublime joy. Just thinking about those times makes my blood pressure drop and I get a warm fuzzy.

As I was thinking about those amazing times, something occurred to me. That’s how God loves us. We are His babies. No matter how old we are, or how worldly we are, we are infants in the arms of the Almighty. We may drive Him nuts during the day, with our demands and our mistakes and our childish rebellions. But then, at the end of the day, when we are worn out by the world, He gathers us up in his arms, and sings us to sleep with the voice of the wind, or the waves or His Word. And as we quietly drift off, He must get that same feeling. God is love, and there is no greater love than that.

Good night, Abba.

One thought on “Want to know how much He loves you? Hold a baby.

Leave a Reply

