Futureophobia

I’m feeling miserable this morning. I am at my cabin in the woods. It’s a peaceful winter morning. I was up early, my favorite time of day. I have a warm cup of coffee, I’m sitting in my easy chair, wrapped in a blanket, looking at the beautiful view in front of me. God has given me way more blessings than I deserve. And I feel crummy.

Why? Futureophobia. Instead of enjoying this blissful quiet moment with God and His creation I am stewing about a meeting I have to attend four days from now. I’m worrying about a handyman project in the basement, and whether a flaw in the concrete floor will create problems years from now. I have a chest cold, and I’m worried that it could become pneumonia. I have futureophobia; the fear of tomorrow.

Can I change tomorrow? I can prepare for it, but, no, I can’t change it. Will Thursday’s meeting be a disaster? No; there may be some conflict between strong personalities, but we’ve all been through that before. Will the basement floor be a problem in five or ten years? I have no idea, but if it is, there are solutions that can be applied. Will I develop pneumonia? Probably not, but that’s why we have doctors, nurses, and patient spouses who know how to brew tea.

In all of these cases nothing has to or can be done about them now. It’s 6:30 a.m., and it is my private meditation time. Now is the time for contemplation of God’s beautiful world. I have set aside time later today to prepare for Thursday’s meeting; I will read up on flooring techniques before I install a finished floor over my bad concrete (months from now); and I will drink fluids, rest, and keep an eye on my cold. None of those things require my attention right now.

God wants us living right now, not tomorrow and not yesterday. “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides. Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself.”–Matthew 6:33.

Enjoy this day that God has made.

Leave a Reply

