What is the dumbest apology you’ve ever had to make?

The apology is one of God’s greatest tools. Apologies re-open doors, they heal two people at one time, they rebuild relationships, but best of all, they are great humility-builders. Believe me on that last one. Over the years, I have had to offer atonement for some of the dumbest reasons imaginable.

Unfortunately, I don’t seem to be growing any wiser. Take this morning for example. I had to take my wife into my arms, look into her beautiful brown eyes and say these words: “I am sorry for getting mad at you because you were thoughtful and caring.”

Oh, sure, laugh. That’s exactly what she did. Almost hysterically, in fact. Can you blame her? How in the world does someone get angry over being cared about? That’s a blog post of its own, and I will write it just as soon as I figure out that goofy little character flaw in myself. But today’s post is about the humility of apologies.

What’s your best apology story? Let’s have a whole string of stories about the best…or maybe the silliest…acts of human atonement. Maybe it will grow into an apologizers-anonymous group. We could call it “A,OK?”

“Therefore, if you bring your gift to the altar, and there recall that your brother has anything against you, leave your gift there at the altar, go first and be reconciled with your brother, and then come and offer your gift.” (MT 5:23-24).

Leave a Reply

