Here I am

Here I am, Lord,
You called me.
So said Samuel.
But he answered the wrong master.
He was sent back to bed.

Here I am, Lord,
You called me.
Again answered Samuel.
But he spoke to the one who did not beckon.
And back again he was sent.

Here I am, Lord,
You called me.
In persistence was he heard.
Sent back again, but told to heed
That quiet, insisting voice.

Samuel, Samuel.
Speak, Lord, your servant is listening.
Each time I heard you,
Each time I responded to you,
Tho ignorant of Your voice.

Samuel, Samuel,
You call us by name.
We arise, we answer,
But often we go to the wrong teacher.
And we are sent back to listen again.

Samuel, Samuel,
You call us patiently,
Knowing and hearing,
Waiting and caring
For the teacher to learn what the pupil must know.

Samuel, Samuel.
Here I am, Lord.
Speak, for your servant is listening,
And now I know Your voice.
For the one whom You sent has sent me.

Leave a Reply

