Let’s all be handmaidens of The Lord today

Today is the Feast of the Immaculate Conception. Today we celebrate the historical moment where a teenage girl told God, ‘Yes, I’ll do it.’ The world was saved because an innocent young lady was willing to put her life into God’s hands rather than her own. Because of Mary’s brave yet innocent acceptance, salvation was born.

As you can tell, I have a bit of a hero-worship thing going for Our Blessed Mother. Her example of acceptance instead of question, doubt, or argument is a model than I look up to, even though it’s seldom one that I can live up to.

In God’s creation the simplest way is usually the right way. I love the great philosophers and I am grateful for their wisdom. But I get most of my inspiration from the saints who love God and do His will because it’s the right thing to do, not because of their deep theological knowledge. I’m a fan of those, “little ones,” as Christ names them. Saint Augustine and John Paul II have given our church an unchallengeable depth, and their brilliance has come as close as any human can to understand our part of His plan. But Mother Mary, Saint Francis, Saint Therese of Lisieux and Mother Theresa show us the way by example, by living The Way.

May I have the strength today to say, “Let it be done to me according to your word.”

One thought on “Let’s all be handmaidens of The Lord today

  1. Hi GJ, thank you for your heartfelt post. I hope you don’t mind, but I’d like to clarify a couple of things. Mary’s fiat – “let it be done to me according to Your Word – was said at the Annunciation. The Immaculate Conception refers to Mary being conceived without original sin; in other words, unlike the rest of us, original sin was excluded from her soul when she was conceived. Here’s an informative site http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/07674d.htm

Leave a Reply

