Prodigal blogger

Good morning. Yes, it’s me again. Yes, it has been a while. My spiritual muse ran dry on me several months ago, and I just haven’t been able to get it back. Even now, I feel like my thesaurus of faith is blank. But God continues to call me to write, so here I am.

They say all of the great saints went through periods of spiritual dryness. Did they also go through periods of spiritual laziness? I don’t want to call what I’ve been going through “dryness.” The spirit has been with me. Jesus has remained in me; my faith does not feel empty at all. It has been a good time in my life. Not the best, but far from the worst. I just haven’t been able/willing/inspired/self-disciplined/what? to put pen to paper…or finger to keyboard.

But here I am. I apologize for the lack of inspirational zip in my writing this morning. No scriptures to quote; no theology to paraphrase. Just me.

Perhaps we can chalk this one up to two sinners comparing notes over coffee. How’s your spiritual life been lately? Mine could be worse, and it could be better. I’m working on better. What about you?

Leave a Reply

